JANUARY 8-31 2022
Register now
EVENT SPECIFICS
Video
Course Stages
Leaderboard

EVENT SPECIFICS

1:57:37
Duration
61.9km
38.02miles
Distance
380m
1246ft
Steepness

INTRODUCING THE VIRTUAL FIVE BORO BIKE TOUR

Train for the TD Five Boro Bike Tour—on your own time—with a one-of-a-kind virtual ride that takes you through car-free NYC streets, past famous landmarks, and over historic bridges, right from home!

Your entry to the Virtual Tour helps Bike NYC promote and encourage bicycling and bicycle safety through education, community outreach, and events.

Participants will be able to ride the Virtual Tour between January 8 and January 31, 2022. If you’re new to the FulGaz app you’ll score a free a 30-day free trial as part of your entry fee.

Get New York Strong, and support free bicycle education, with this uniquely urban in-home ride.

 

Video

Course Stages

TB Five Boro Bike ride

Here’s your chance to ride 40 miles of iconic New York City streets, with no cars and no pedestrians!

This is the TD Five Boro Bike Tour, starting in lower Manhattan and proceeding up 6th
Avenue to Central Park. The Tour crosses the top of the park and continues north, heading over the Harlem River into the Bronx. The route comes back into Manhattan and down alongside the East River on the FDR Drive and crosses the Queensboro Bridge before rolling up to Astoria and turning back down into Brooklyn. The Tour continues on the Gowanus Expressway through Brooklyn and across the lower deck of the Verrazzano-Narrows Bridge, descending into Staten Island. We have a small climb to the finish line near the Staten Island Ferry terminal, where spectators are waiting to cheer you on!

1:57:37
Duration
61.9km
Distance
380m
Elevation

Central Park Loop

Enjoy 20-minutes of uninterrupted bicycling through Central Park’s vibrant and lush flora on the Virtual Central Park Loop! You’ll begin your journey at Tavern on the Green, cruise under iconic arches, and pedal around Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis Reservoir, all from the comfort of your own home.

21:25
Duration
9.73km
Distance
93m
Elevation

Leaderboard

New to FulGaz? Here's the quick start guide.

1. Download FulGaz and set up a free account
We’re offering all registered riders a 30-day free trial, no credit card required. Downloading the trial gives you full access to FulGaz with no restrictions on content, or how often or how far you ride.You will be sent a promo code from Bike NYC which will reveal the ride channel.

2. Connect your devices
When you load up FulGaz and hit Get Started, you’ll be greeted with a pairing screen. Here your smart bike/trainer/speed sensor will be picked up and listed. Select the devices you’d like to connect and click Let’s Ride. Pro Tip If you can’t see your devices when trying to connect, they are most likely paired with another app (RGT, Rouvy, Zwift). You will need to deselect your trainer from that app’s pairing screen, quit that app, and restart FulGaz.

3. Set your preferences, weight and slope scaling.
Click the settings icon to take a moment to set your display preference (metric or imperial). For the most realistic experience, enter your weight and bike weight. There are many other settings here also; it’s best to get a feel for riding FulGaz first before adjusting these. Start at around 60% uphill to get the feel. You can adjust this in ride also. Pro Tip If you find the hills too hard, you can adjust the Slope Scaling, this is essentially the “trainer difficulty”. Adjusting this won’t make you faster, but it will make hills easier!

4. Download a video and ride.
We always suggest downloading the video ahead of time. For any event you must download the video. Before the event, test your set up with something from the Easy collection. These rides will give you a good “feel” for how FulGaz looks and interacts with your trainer or smart bike.

5. Get event-ready Before you start your event, make sure you turn up at the start line ready.

Here’s a quick checklist

  1. Download the ride ahead of time
  2. Stay hydrated – have at least two bottles of water available
  3. Have a towel and fan to help you cool down.
  4. Have snacks nearby!
What equipment do I need?

To participate in this event from the comfort of your own home you will need some cycling equipment.

PRO Set-Up

  • Road Bike
  • Smart Trainer (e.g Elite Suito,Wahoo Kickr) or a smart bike.

Or

Basic Set-up

  • Road Bike
  • Standard Trainer (Check out some options here)
  • Speed Sensor if using Standard trainer.

Connection equipment

FulGaz works on Apple TV, MacOS or an iPhone or iPad as well as Windows and Android devices. To get started you will need to download the app onto your respective device. For an amazing viewing (and riding) experience we highly recommend using an Apple TV connected to your lounge room TV or monitor.

Please note rides in ‘event mode’ will force you to download the ride prior to starting. This ensures an uninterrupted riding experience so make sure you download each stage well ahead of time to avoid delays.

Do I have to ride these in order?

You can ride these stages in any other you like, just make sure you finish them before the cut-off times in your timezone.

What time and day are these rides available?

These rides will be available to download the week of the event. To reveal the ride channel, please use the unique access code that will be emailed to you in the coming weeks from Bike NYC.

STAGE OPENING TIMES

  • 🇺🇸 6am (EST) Saturday 8 Jan
  • 🇬🇧 11am (GMT) Saturday 8 Jan
  • 🇪🇺 12 noon (CET) Saturday 8 Jan
  • 🇿🇦 1pm (SAST) Saturday 8 Jan
  • 🇺🇸 3am (PDT) Saturday 8 Jan
  • 🇯🇵  8pm (JST) Saturday 8 Jan
  • 🇨🇳 7pm (CST) Saturday 8 Jan
  • 🇦🇺 10pm AEDT Saturday 8 Jan

Event Partners