FulGaz in partnership with Trish & Phil Liggett and Kariega Game Reserve is excited to release a five stage Tour through this premier game reserve in the Eastern Cape of South Africa.

This is a free event for all FulGaz riders, however donations to the Kariega Foundation are encouraged to help the fight against rhino poaching. Your donation helps them continue their vital work which helps prevent poaching and keeps rhinos protected and in the wild.

Join us for four exhilarating virtual safari cycle routes through dramatic African wilderness teeming with wild animals.

Join the ride via the Freedom to Roam Fundraiser Channel shown here. Can’t see it? Try updating your ride list via settings.

DONATE TO WIN!

Any new participants who donate a minimum of $120 will automatically qualify for an entry into the prize draw. If they name an existing peloton member as their referrer, the referrer, will also get an additional entry into the draw.
The more people you bring into the peloton, who donate $120, the greater your chance of winning either a complimentary all-inclusive four night safari for two people sharing in one luxury suite at Kariega Game Reserve’s Settlers Drift or a complimentary all-inclusive two night safari for two people sharing in one luxury suite at Kariega Game Reserve’s Ukhozi Lodge.

New participants can add the name of their referrer in the comments section when they make their donation.

1. Kariega Harvestvale

A ride through the open plains leads to the only major climb on the route called Red Road with a gradient of 8.3%. Keep an eye out for the giraffe while you’re climbing.
20.22KM
DISTANCE
1:10:36
DURATION
360M
ELEVATION

2. Kariega Sunset Loop

Start with a loop around Blesbok Plains before descending down to the bottom of the Kariega Reserve. On your journey, keep an eye out for plenty of wildlife including impala, giraffes and a single white rhino.

 

19.35KM
DISTANCE
59:26
DURATION
249M
ELEVATION

3. Kariega Plains Loop

Starting on the Blesbok Plains keep an eye out for three sleeping rhinos on your right not long after you start. This ride has the most amount of climbing in our safari series. Phil’s Zoom includes how habitat expansion and restoration is essential for the survival of endangered species, particularly rhino.

27.76KM
DISTANCE
1:34:13
DURATION
515M
ELEVATION

4. Kariega River Route

A relatively flat ride which begins in the open plains before moving into a forest. You’ll travel around the River Lodge before following some animal tracks back to the river before circling back around to the River Lodge.

13.79KM
DISTANCE
57:25
DURATION
290M
ELEVATION

5. Kariega Game Reserve Bonus ride

Start with a loop before descending onto the large open African plains. On your journey, keep an eye out for plenty of wildlife including various antelope, giraffes and a single white rhino. Find out in the Zoom how community food projects help to eliminate hunger as a motivator to poach wildlife.
14.5KM
DISTANCE
44:09
DURATION
192M
ELEVATION

Hosted Zoom 1 - 19 September

Sunday 19 September: 8am (BST), 9am (SAST), 5pm (AEST), 3am (EST), 12am (PDT)

Ride the Kariega Harvestvale route and listen to special guest Will Fowlds.

Hosted Zoom 2 - 18 October

Ride the Kariega Sunset Loop. 21.54km (12.02mi). 419m. Start with a loop before descending onto the large open African plains. On your journey, keep an eye out for plenty of wildlife including various antelope, giraffes and a single white rhino. Guests and timezones to be announced!

Subscribe to FulGaz

Now available on a wide choice of platforms including Android, Apple TV, iPad,  MacOS, iPhone and Windows 10. FulGaz offers you the ultimate ride!