Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Phil Liggett’s African Safari Peloton 2021

5 June - 13 June

Phil Liggett's

African Safari Peloton

FulGaz is excited to be partnering with Kariega Game Reserve and Phil Liggett to bring you an opportunity like no other, an exclusive chance to ride through a game reserve on FulGaz whilst helping raise money to continue the important conservation and anti-poaching work the reserve does.

This is your chance to get up close and personal with the game park’s wildlife and enjoy the stunning views of the region via FulGaz. Riding on the reserve in real life isn’t permitted so this is a truly once in a lifetime experience. These videos were recorded by a reserve ranger.

Anyone can join Phil’s four-part virtual safari peloton. Entries for cyclists and spectators are now open. Secure your limited seat for this exclusive opportunity by making a minimum US$40 donation.

Once you have donated, you will be emailed the Zoom links to join Phil’s once-off live discussions as he hosts the four-part virtual rides in a Big 5 wilderness area.

The live interactive Zoom events will be held on 5, 6, 12 & 13 June 2021 (times below). Donors will also be sent links to the recorded events.

New to FulGaz? Quick start guide

The great part about this event is that you don’t have to cycle, the choice is yours. However, joining us on FulGaz will create the most immersive experience possible. Here’s how to get started on FulGaz in five easy steps. READ ON.

1. Download FulGaz and set up a free account
We offer new subscribers a 14-day free trial, no credit card required.

Downloading the trial gives you Full Access to FulGaz with no restrictions on content, or how often or how far you ride. If you’re returning to FulGaz for another go, send us a support ticket and we’ll hook you up with another trial on the house.

2. Connect your devices
When you load up FulGaz and hit Get Started, you’ll be greeted with a pairing screen. Here your smart bike/trainer/speed sensor will be picked up and listed. Select the devices you’d like to connect and click Let’s Ride.

Pro Tip If you can’t see your devices when trying to connect, they are most likely paired with another app (RGT, Rouvy, Zwift). You will need to deselect your trainer from that app’s pairing screen, quit that app, and restart FulGaz.

3. Set your preferences, weight and slope scaling
Click the settings icon to take a moment to set your display preference (metric or imperial). For the most realistic experience, enter your weight and bike weight. There are many other settings here also; it’s best to get a feel for riding FulGaz first before adjusting these. Start at around 60% uphill to get the feel. You can adjust this in ride also.

Pro Tip If you find the hills too hard, you can adjust the Slope Scaling, this is essentially the “trainer difficulty”. Adjusting this won’t make you faster, but it will make hills easier!

4. Download a video and ride
We always suggest downloading the video ahead of time. For any event you must download the video.  Before the event, test your set up with something from the Easy collection. These rides will give you a good “feel” for how FulGaz looks and interacts with your trainer or smart bike.

5. Get event-ready
Before you start your event, make sure you turn up at the start line ready.

Here’s a quick checklist

      • Download the ride ahead of time
      • If joining us on Zoom, download the app and run it on a different device.
      • Stay hydrated – have at least two bottles of water available
      • Have a towel and fan to help you cool down.

What equipment do I need?

To participate in this event from the comfort of your own home you will need some cycling equipment.

PRO Set-Up

Or

Basic Set-up

  • Road Bike
  • Standard Trainer (Check out some options here)
  • Speed Sensor if using Standard trainer.

 

Connection equipment

FulGaz works on Apple TV or an iPhone or iPad as well as Windows and Android devices. To get started you will need to download the app onto your respective device. For an amazing viewing (and riding) experience we highly recommend using an Apple TV connected to your lounge room TV or monitor.

Please note rides in ‘event mode’ will force you to download the ride prior to starting. This ensures an uninterrupted riding experience so make sure you download each stage well ahead of time to avoid delays.

FulGaz for MacOS is currently in the ‘Beta’ testing phase, visit the FulGaz website for more details and to download FulGaz.

Hosted Zoom 1 - Saturday 5 June

This zoom will focus on the protection required on the game reserve and explore the anti-poaching and canine units.

Hosted Zoom start times 5 June

  • 4pm (BST) 🇬🇧 
  • 5pm (SAST) 🇿🇦 
  • 11am (EST) 🇺🇸 
  • 8am (PDT) 🇺🇸
  • 1am (AEST) 🇦🇺  (6 June)

Hosted Zoom 2 - Sunday 6 June

This hosted ride with Phil Liggett will look at providing food support to the local communities to help eliminate hunger and the motivation to poach animals.

Start time 6 June

  • 10am (BST) 🇬🇧
  • 11am (SAST) 🇿🇦
  • 7pm (AEST) 🇦🇺
  • 5am (EST) 🇺🇸
  • 2am (PDT) 🇺🇸

Hosted Zoom 3 - Saturday 12 June

This zoom will focus on the preservation elements of the game reserve such as rhino translocation, habitat expansion and genetic preservation.

Start times 12 June

  • 8am (PDT)🇺🇸
  • 11am (EST) 🇺🇸
  • 4pm (BST) 🇬🇧
  • 5pm (SAST) 🇿🇦
  • 1am (AEST) Sun 13 Australia

Hosted Zoom 4 - Sunday 13 June

This hosted zoom focuses on the educational aspects of the game reserve, looking at the community wildlife and ecology camps.

Start time 13 June

  • 10am (BST) 🇬🇧
  • 11am (SAST) 🇿🇦
  • 7pm (AEST) 🇦🇺
  • 5am (EST) 🇺🇸
  • 2am (PDT) 🇺🇸

When will they be available to ride and how long do I have to ride them?

Rides one and two will be available from the start time of the first ZOOM on 5 June. Rides three and four will be available to ride the following Saturday. All rides will be available on the app until midnight GMT, Sunday 20 June to complete.

 

ROUTE OVERVIEW

Kariega Harvestvale 20.38km / 345m elevation

A ride through the open plains leads to the only major climb on the route called Red Road with a gradient of 8.3%. Keep an eye out for the giraffe while you’re climbing.

Kariega Sunset Loop - 21.54km / 419m elevation

Start with a loop around Blesbok Plains before descending down to the bottom of the Kariega Reserve. On your journey, keep an eye out for plenty of wildlife including impala, giraffes and a single white rhino.

Kariega Plains Loop – 31.66km/529m elevation

Starting on the Blesbok Plains, keep an eye out for 3 sleeping rhinos on your right, not long after you start. This ride has the most amount of climbing in the series. The steepest climb is known as Lancedale.

Kariega River Route - 14.6km / 251m elevation

A relatively flat ride which begins in the open plains before moving into a forest. You’ll travel around the River Lodge before following some animal tracks back to the river before circling back around to the River Lodge.

Incredible Safari Give-Backs

The four rides in Phil’s African Safari Peloton are dedicated to raising funds for specific Kariega Foundation conservation projects with a set fundraising target of US$35,000. If this target is achieved, all participants who donated more than US$120 to join Phil’s exclusive peloton will be entered into a lucky draw to win a complimentary all-inclusive four night safari for two people sharing in one luxury suite at Kariega Game Reserve’s Settlers Drift.

The safari prize is valued at US$7,000 and is fully inclusive of accommodation, all meals, selected beverages, morning and evening game drives and other game activities. Airfares, road transfers and the Kariega Foundation conservation & community levy are not included.

And…

All participants will receive a 15% discount code to book a Kariega safari trip for up to four people before 18 December 2022. The code is valid for direct booking made via the Kariega website only.

About Kariega Game Reserve

Kariega Game Reserve is an internationally renowned malaria-free private game reserve situated near Port Elizabeth in South Africa. The reserve spans across 10,000 hectares of pristine wilderness and is home to the famous Big 5, as well as zebra, giraffe, hippo, multiple species of antelope and an abundance of birdlife.

Kariega is a family-owned and managed private game reserve, giving it a warm and welcoming atmosphere. The Kariega Foundation, in partnership with Kariega Game Reserve, is actively building a conservation community that works collectively to rejuvenate our planet, people and wildlife.

Set on African plains with magnificent hills and dramatic river valleys, the wilderness area combines spectacular and dramatic vistas with an abundance of African wildlife. Guests stay in one of the five lodges and enjoy a variety of land and water-based safari activities.

Have a question?

If you have a question, need help getting started, or want to get in touch, drop us a line via the support page.

Details

Start:
5 June
End:
13 June
Event Category: